Posted in Soul

What brings your soul to life?

Joy is a return to the deep harmony of body, mind, and spirit that was yours at birth and that can be yours again. That openness to love, that capacity for wholeness with the world around you, is still within you.
Deepak Chopra

It seems that everything around us has gotten so crazy and busy that we don’t take the time to look for the joy around us.

Whenever I read certain quotes (like the one above), there is a deep emotion awakes inside me. A reminder of something forgotten!

The idea that we can find joy from simple things has always peaked my interest, yet brushed aside for a while due to the rat race that we live in. Work, kids, home…..and so we tend to forget to take a step back and enjoy the moments.

The idea of finding what brings me joy has played in my mind like an old favourite tune for a while now, and I have finally allowed it to consume me.

So, what are the simple things? Surely this is an easy enough question to answer?

Pleasure is always derived from something outside you, whereas joy arises from within.
Eckhart Tolle

To be honest, I am still in the process of understanding what brings pleasure to what brings joy into my life. The cloud formations in the morning on my way to work, the taste of warm freshly baked bread, being creative, a hoot when driving through a tunnel, the sound of Siara’s laughter, Siarn’s charismatic smile. These are a few of the simple things that emits vibrations of joy within me.

Sadly, we don’t always stop and take notice of the uncomplicated joys that nature has bestowed upon us. We are too busy with the pleasures of life.

I have made it a point that at least once a day I will stop and look around. I will allow the joy to seep into me. This is my way of ensuring that joy will stay in my nature and not a forgotten memory when the rat race of life takes over again.

Seeing my kids  little eyes brimming with complete happiness looking at me, makes me realise that I am on the right track.

So, if the sight of the blue skies fills you with joy, if the smell of freshly cut grass has power to move you, if the simple things have a message that you understand, rejoice, for your soul is alive.

What brings your soul to life?

Author:

A working mother who lives in Johannesburg. I thrive on coffee to keep me sane, music to soothe my soul, reading to pretend that I am clever, and most importantly my kids to know that I am loved.

6 thoughts on “What brings your soul to life?

  1. Wow Keri this is ab btiful!I luv it!and its so true as we’ll,u realy flowing with this 🙂 waitn for more!

    Like

  2. Here’s to Happily ever afters, New beginings and NO regrets! Love your SPARKLE – Fresh and Fabulous blog! Much Love xxx

    Like

  3. Keri, I see you quote Echkart Tolle. He is amazing. I read The Power of Now and since reading it am more able to see the pain body that inhabits us all and even if I don’t successfully detach from it all the time, stepping back and taking in all the beauty that is around me and really freeing my mind to inhabit my body, brings deeper joy. Your presence shines through clearly in your writing. Looking forward to more self discoveries and sharing of you find beautiful in this world.

    Like

Comments are closed.