Posted in Heart

There is no replacement!

Life was never dull or lonely growing up because I always had the best company in my siblings.

I remember the days when we played on the road together, had each other as company when we went out on family holidays, sitting on a blanket outside the car at the drive inn, hiding and watching movies while our parents slept, stealing litchi’s and eating it under the table (And getting caught).

I remember the arguments, the screaming, the fighting…. We grew up being arch enemies, getting each other into trouble, bailing each other out of trouble, we were partners in crime and best of friends… the ties became stronger when we got older and today I can safely say that I have the bests of friends in my siblings.

To have a relationship with a sibling is not simply to have a companion but to have someone who teaches us about fairness and support, thoughtfulness and compassion. Someone who helps you up, someone who knows how to push all your buttons yet loves you through all your faults and someone who will smack you over the head when you really deserve it.

We share  common memories and secrets…. They know the real you!

To the outside world, we all grow old. But not to brothers and sisters. We know each other as we always were. We know each other’s hearts. We share private family jokes. We remember family feuds and secrets, family grief’s and joys. We live outside the touch of time.

~Clara Ortega

Always remember to forgive each other and forget the little arguments, because life without each other is like the dance without the music.

I cannot imagine my life without my siblings, and I hope that the affection, admiration and bond that we feel towards each other is an example to the  two of you.

I pray that you both will continue to bond, love and respect each other in the years that follow.

Nobody can ever take the place of a sibling!!

Author:

A working mother who lives in Johannesburg. I thrive on coffee to keep me sane, music to soothe my soul, reading to pretend that I am clever, and most importantly my kids to know that I am loved.

10 thoughts on “There is no replacement!

  1. Keri – ur words and thoughts are so insightful- it takes me back as weLL.
    I love ur blogs- they are so open and honest and a true reflection of your journey to where you are now.

    Keep them coming- loving ur art! Mwah!

    Like

  2. Growing up with siblings is one of the greatest gifts our parents can give us. I’m sure your two will realize that one day too and thank you 🙂

    Like

  3. So true about being with each other through thick and thin 🙂 i remember my older brother handcuffing me to him on our walk from school to home on my first day of junior high. Then the lies I had to tell my parents about his absconding:D what fun those days were.

    Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

  4. Oh goodness!! I am wondering, where did he get the handcuffs at that young age? :). It is amazing how we forget the little acts of love and kindness that we shared. Glad I brought back some good memories. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.