Posted in Heart

Heartbreak Tuesday

Tuesday morning started like any other, the alarm screaming, gentle waking of the kids, the slow rush of getting kids ready , making a hearty breakfast, lovingly packing lunch and snacks, then goodbyes and love you’ s during the school drop off. Yes can you believe that my house is generally calm in the mornings??? How did I get that right?

So, why am I telling you about my Tuesday? Well the awful news came during the course of the morning.  A woman that we welcomed into our home and was truly a GOD sent, had passed on.

I knew she was ill and even though she had left our employment 2 years ago, we spoke often, she visited, and the love and affection was still there. You see she was part of our family, not just our immediate family, but with our extended family as well.

The fact that such a beautiful soul was no more saddened me terribly, and while I bawled my eyes out, nothing could prepare me for what I needed to do that evening.

How do you tell your children that someone who they loved so dearly is no more?

Will they really understand what it means?

So Tuesday evening comes and I procrastinate as much as possible. I contemplated not telling them, but then I thought how can I lie to them? Have I not been trying to instil honesty into their little minds?

So after I cooked their favourite meal, and after their bath, I sat them down. I carefully picked my words and I gently tried to break the news to my innocent little beings that were sitting right next to me. What happened next was more than I bargained for.

Pain, anguish and torment were all that reflected on the beautiful faces that belonged to my children. They could not even speak. They were in total shock. The silence was deafening. All my son could manage was burying his head into me and sobbing his little heart out. My heart broke into a million pieces as I watched… and all I could think was that I caused this, I should have just kept my big mouth shut.

After what seemed like hours, they seemed to compose themselves (kids are so resilient like that). You could see that their little hearts were broken, but they have this amazing ability to deal with stuff so much better than us adults do.

Later that evening, my distraught son could not sleep; he kept saying to me that when he closes his eyes all he can see is his Pumie. And my heart broke into even more pieces. You see he loved her the most.

With tears rolling down our cheeks, all I could say to him was that she is in a better place, and that she is not in pain any longer, and that we should remember the good times that we have shared with her. He then turned to me and said… ‘But mummy, Pumie does not have a body anymore, but her spirit will always be here” …. Gosh I sure do have a wise young man!!!

May her soul rest in peace. Time will heal the sorrow but we will never forget the wonderful, giving and genuinely affectionate woman that she was. She was certainly a gem and will truly be missed by all that loved her.

Sadly, I have left my hard drive at home and this is the only picture that I have on my laptop , but Kids, this is just a reminder! You have so many more memories etched in your hearts and mind.

 

Author:

A working mother who lives in Johannesburg. I thrive on coffee to keep me sane, music to soothe my soul, reading to pretend that I am clever, and most importantly my kids to know that I am loved.

12 thoughts on “Heartbreak Tuesday

  1. May her soul rest in peace!!Bless her for de person dat she was! My sympathies to you’ll. She was an absolutely wonderful n Carin Soul!! Lots o love to all of you.

    Like

  2. So sorry abt pumi, she was such a lovely person. She was so good wid siarn & siarra. I heard siarn is taking it bad
    May her soul rest in

    Like

Please leave a comment

