Posted in Soul

Thank you for the Music

“Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination
and life to everything.”
Plato

For me this statement radiates such truth. Music has been a part of my life since I first entered this world some years ago J(we won’t say exactly how many years ago). I have been part of a musically appreciative family. My grandfather, my aunts and mostly my dad is an avid and passionate music lover. This love for music has passed down from generation to generation, and I am so proud and privileged to pass this passion down to my ever so willing kiddo’s.

Growing up, it did not matter whether we were sitting at home, or in the car, the music was always playing at a volume which will put any nightclub to shame (much to my mother’s annoyance), and we jammed to the sounds of The Beatles, Deep Purple, Prince (this is where my appreciation for this amazing artist started, and I still LOVE his music), and then enjoying the softness of Bread, Simon and Garfunkel to name a small few.

No wonder my home, car, cell phone and laptop is filled with the beautiful sounds of music. And not surprising that my children are now surrounded by the healing, emotion altering and calming effects that music holds.

Now as a family, we all have different tastes in music, but I think it is safe to say that we are a well-rounded bunch. We are so crazy in love with music that every morning as we get into the car, Siarn turns the radio on to their favourite CD while Siara requests the first song. This is where all 3 of us become a bit like lunatics… head banging, music loud and hands flying in the air (which resembles dancing), and in chorus we sing our hearts out. We do get some odd stares from other drivers and passengers as we make our happy way to school.

This morning ritual after the rush that happens before we all are in the car on route to school does one very important thing. It puts us in an AWESOME mood. It’s a wonderful and stress relieving way for us to bond, laugh and start the day with some fun.

Kids, I so enjoy the moments that we share and as William Shakespeare said ““If music be the food of love, play on”

Here are 5 songs that we are listening to for the past 2 maybe 3 months. I have chosen a verse from each song as a “riddle” for you to figure out and remember in years to come.

For all of you that are reading this, maybe you can guess the songs?

Song 1 –

What’ll you do when you get lonely
and nobody’s waiting by your side?
You’ve been running and hiding much too long.
You know it’s just your foolish pride

Song 2 –

And I’m Bleeding, and I’m Bleeding, and I’m Bleeding,
Right before the Lord
All the words are gonna bleed from me
and I will sing no more

Song 3 –

And I don’t want the world to see me
‘Cause I don’t think that they’d understand
When everything’s meant to be broken
I just want you to know who I am

Song 4 –

It started with a low light
Next thing I knew they ripped me from my bed
and then they took my blood type
it left a strange impression in my head

Song 5 – especially for my nephew Saiyin

Just shoot for the stars
If it feels right
And aim for my heart
If you feel like
And take me away and make it OK
I swear I’ll behave

As you can see, we listen to all genres of music. Siara and Siarn, I hope these songs will be on your old school list when you get to my age. And that every time you hear a familiar old song from your childhood, you think of me. Just like how I think of my dad every time I hear a familiar song from the past.

Thank you DAD for introducing me to the wonderful world of music. It most certainly brings joy to my soul in more ways that you ever intended.

After reading this, I hope you can close your eyes, listen to the music that is playing in your head (or play your favourite tune) and feel your soul soar!

Author:

A working mother who lives in Johannesburg. I thrive on coffee to keep me sane, music to soothe my soul, reading to pretend that I am clever, and most importantly my kids to know that I am loved.