Posted in General

I’m going home, I’m going home. Tell the world I’m going home!!!

As the last month of the year rapidly creeps to completion, everyone seems to be taking it slow. Conversations are predominately about summer vacations that are being finalised or eagerly anticipated. While I am starting to feel the sensations of the “end of the year syndrome” somewhere in my subconscious, I am still consumed with work which has been somewhat hectic to put it mildly. With new projects in full throttle, stress levels as well as my working day/night has become a norm in the past few months.  

So now that the kids closed school, it means that the rush of the morning routines has come to an end until Next Year. … This is a much-needed blessing.

An even bigger blessing is that in 8 sleeps I get to pack our bags and go Home! Although I have a home here in Gauteng, I get to go to My home. A place where my childhood memories belong. A place where the role of parent and child is somewhat shifted for a while… I get to be a child again in the loving ambiance of my parents and grandmother. Almost all responsibilities of being a mother, home maker, employee, an adult, along with the stress and  frustrations that have overwhelmed me during the year will all melt away … it has been a very long time since I have spent the festive season at home, and an even longer time since I have been home for the holidays. Can you tell?

Home is in hot humid Durban, and although December is sometimes unbearable in this coastal region, I look forward to the therapeutic sounds of the sea lulling me to sleep while the gentle sea breeze caresses and cools me during those hot summer nights.

You see home is near the sea, which means that I get to wake up to the sounds of seagulls searching for a meal while the waves break along the shore.  Mornings are filled with sights of porpoises, and sometimes dolphins frolicking just a few meters from where I stand, while in the background the sun rises gracefully and breathtakingly welcoming a new day. I sure miss this!!!

Days filled with long leisurely walks on the beach, finding unusual shells with the kids, exploring the caves that inhabit the beach, laying on the warm rocks reading a book (ok I can hope for that) and not forgetting  swimming in the warm Indian Ocean… this what I look forward to during this summer holiday.

Nights filled with laughter and family is what I sorely miss right now, and I get to do that too. Meeting friends that I have not seen in a while to catch up or party while my parents babysit is going to be a welcomed change to the year that was filled with work and duties.

Have I told you how much I am looking forward to my summer holiday? Being inebriated by the joy of being home? ….8 more sleeps!!!!

This might probably be my last blog for 2012, so, here is an early wish for my readers. May this festive season be a magical and relaxing time for you and your loved ones and May the New Year bring new beginnings!  …

May you all share the ….

festive

Be blessed and be safe.

See you all in 2013!!!

Author:

A working mother who lives in Johannesburg. I thrive on coffee to keep me sane, music to soothe my soul, reading to pretend that I am clever, and most importantly my kids to know that I am loved.

Please leave a comment

