Posted in General, Soul

I am that Mum!!

During a recent conversation, the topic of what kind of mum are you came up…

As I started thinking/reflecting … it dawned on me that we are all brainwashed, it seems, to label. Labels that make us feel safe, in control, to have approval…

But the thing is, there are some things that cannot be labelled…. Like parenthood.

So, What kind of mum am I?

After almost 10 years, I know what kind of mother I am, but trying to put into words is not that easy…

I guess I could say that I am … ME …

I am that mum that…
that says ‘I love you’ often … that has silly pet names for you both … that checks her phone way to often … that screws up appointments … that prefers dance parties in the kitchen … that lets you guys say not-so-great words … that encourages positive thinking … that misses you both terribly when you are away for too long … that reprimands when need be … that encourages silliness … that feels your pain … that cares about your wellbeing … that does not read bedtime stories every night …  that wants you both to be happy … that is bad at brushing hair … that is terrible on the nutrition front … that loves to celebrates the small moments as much as the big ones … that is far less than perfect … that is okay with that … that believes in umm a bit of bribery … that annoys you for the fun of it … that encourages you both in all that you try … that loves the little notes that are written for me … that will protect you forever … that loves your laughter … that listens … that get’s annoyed with your loud chewing at the dinner table … that thrives on the morning cuddles before waking up time … that grinds my teeth at your nagging … that loves your hugs and kisses … that will do just about anything for you both

I am that mum that Loves you both more everyday …

I am that mum that hopes one day you will realize … I did my best.

20130826_202143_3

Author:

A working mother who lives in Johannesburg. I thrive on coffee to keep me sane, music to soothe my soul, reading to pretend that I am clever, and most importantly my kids to know that I am loved.