Posted in General, Heart, Soul

A message that made my day!!!

Us humans are weird creatures. Our behaviour, reactions and responses and our overall outlook to life’s challenges fascinate me.

Maybe it is triggered by how we see these moments, how we feel in those moments, what we are thinking during those moments, what our belief is about the moment…

But most often we tend to dwell…. and then we tend to focus on the negatives.. the hurt ….the fear… the anger

This weekend I fell prey to the dwelling…. Allowing the words to resonate through me…. allowing others actions to get to me….

And then this morning, Siara and I had a bit of a disagreement… actually… we have had odd disagreements for a while now…. 
I must admit some of them have been things that there is no point in arguing with especially to an almost 10-year-old, when you either see her point or that there is no point….Or when you ‘see yourself’ coming out during those moments of stubborn arguments.

There are times that i really can see myself…having those ridiculous and sometimes completely unnecessary arguments with my mother…
and I do see the look on her face when I sometimes walked away…
shame, as an independent strong-willed young lady that I was, I certainly did not make her life easy….

Anyways….This morning I felt the sting though

The sting of your child walking away, ignoring your I love you….

How the tables have turned….

Although I understood and forgave her …

I still felt the sting, especially since I was having a small pity party in my head..

with everything that I dwelt on, the party continued till this evening until…

…I got mail….

Capture

I received this e-mail from Siara this evening

Siara’s e-mail may have ruined my party but it gave me so much more …. it made me feel proud of my little girl who is growing up… and it made me realise that no matter what challenges I face in life, there is always some positive in everyday…. it may not be as so blatant as an email… but something good does happen everyday

it is on what we choose to place our focus that makes the greatest difference.

The negative makes you lose sight and even miss all moments that bring happiness, joy and a simple smile

And today I choose to focus on the mail that made my heart smile….. everything else will be clearer in time….

And it really does feel great when we have a smile…… Don’t you think?

Author:

A working mother who lives in Johannesburg. I thrive on coffee to keep me sane, music to soothe my soul, reading to pretend that I am clever, and most importantly my kids to know that I am loved.

2 thoughts on “A message that made my day!!!

Comments are closed.