Posted in General, Heart

I want you to know

untitled

I look at you, and wonder…. where has it all gone?

Time certainly has not stood still.

You have changed. You have grown. You have matured. But you are still learning.

For the past few days, allot of different thoughts and emotions has been going on in me

Siara, as much as we chat, giggle and fool around with a whole range of topics both silly and serious… I would like you to take note of these… cos I think they are important to remember

that…Being a girl is not an excuse.

Be your own woman. Do not be what they expect you to be. Do not fall prey to the stereotypes that have fallen onto girls. You can do anything that you set your mind to do. Do not sell yourself short. If anyone tells you differently, take it as an opportunity to correct the misconception. Be independent.

that…There will always be someone telling you you’re ‘being selfish’ or ‘doing it wrong’.

As your mother, I will  be there to guide you. But, there will always be someone who will tell you HOW you should be. HOW you should do things. There will always be the HOW. Know that You need learn to go your own way, You need to care more about what you want and how you think you should be doing things and worry less about everyone else. This is hard for me as I am a kinda control freak. But I know that in order to be the best you…. you need to be you and not what everyone else wants you to be

that…You don’t have to have children.

Please please please note … that I would love to have grandkids. And this is not me saying that should not…. But I know that having kids is not for everyone. And that is ok. No one should ever make you feel pressured or not good enough if you don’t want to. Don’t feel pressured to do anything you do not want to.

that…You don’t have to get married.

It is not a requirement in life. You need to first learn to stand on your own two feet, to understand yourself, to know your needs, to know what you want.  And when you find that person that doesn’t define you are but compliments who you are … do what your heart feels right and what brings YOU happiness. Love and Commitment does not come from a piece of paper.

that…Respect yourself.

This is the most important. As you are growing and entering your teenage years, remember this. You have got to have some self-respect. You have got to show yourself that self respect. Learn to stand your ground for what you believe. Don’t let yourself be walked over by people. Don’t be put into compromising situations that you are not comfortable with. And if you are, respect yourself enough to get out of it. No one will respect you more than you respect yourself. So set the bar high!!

These are my words to you, mummy’s not so little girl…

Author:

A working mother who lives in Johannesburg. I thrive on coffee to keep me sane, music to soothe my soul, reading to pretend that I am clever, and most importantly my kids to know that I am loved.

Please leave a comment

